Executive Intelligence Review
Subscribe to EIR


On Eve of FAO Meeting, Strong S. Amer. Support for Helga Zepp-LaRouche Call, and New Opposition to Biofuels

June 1, 2008 (EIRNS)—Congressmen from several leading nations of Ibero-America have endorsed Helga Zepp-LaRouche's Schiller Institute call on the Rome FAO Conference, to meet the global good crisis by changing policies in order to double food production. And Ibero-American nations at the Rome conference will demand a moratorium on biofuels production worldwide, A Honduran FAO representative told a radio broadcast with Helga Zepp-LaRouche on May 29.

New backers for the Schiller Institute call (read the call by Helga Zepp-LaRouche) include:

  • Argentine Congressman Alberto Cantero, Chairman of the Agriculture and Livestock Committee of the Argentine Chamber of Deputies

  • Congressman Gerardo Villaneuva Albarrán, Revolutionary Democratic Party, Mexico

  • Everto Diaz, President of the Unitary Agricultural Trade Union Federation (FENSUAGRO) of Colombia

  • Jorge Mora, International Affairs Director of the Land, Housing and Habitat Federation of Argentina

Worldwide Support

Mrs. Zepp-LaRouche's call is reported prominently today in an article on the FAO conference in the Egyptian government newspaper Al Ahram, which otherwise reports Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak's plans to push at the Rome summit for big food production increases and an halt to biofuels diversion. The call has been joined by professional, trade union, and political organizations and leaders from the United States, Canada, Europe, Asia, and Australia—and been posted on many scientific and political websites in Russia. It has quickly gotten the backing of 40 elected officials in the United States:

  1. State Senator Joe Neal (former), North Las Vegas, Nevada
  2. Fred Huenefeld, Chairman of the Boeuf River Soil and Water Conservation District, and Trustee of the Louisiana Realtors Political Action Committee, Board Member of Schiller Institute.
  3. Thomas Trigona, Mayor, City of Johnstown, Pa.
  4. Kareem Johnson, Council Vice President, City of Coatesville, Pa.
  5. Marcia Goodman-Hinnershitz, Council Member, City of Reading, Pa.
  6. State Rep. Harold James of Pennsylvania
  7. Rep. Thomas Jackson, Chair House Agriculture Committee, Alabama House of Representatives, Thomasville Al.
  8. Sen. Joey Pendleton, Minority Whip, Kentucky Senate; Hopkinsville, Ky
  9. Rep. Catherine Barrett (former); Cincinnati, Oh
  10. Rep. LaMar Lemmons III (former); Detroit, Mi.
  11. Ross Neidich, City Council of Bradford, Pennsylvania
  12. Bob Onuffer, City Council of Bradford, Pennsylvania
  13. Anthony Pinizzotto, City Council of Johnstown, Pennsylvania
  14. Joan Seymour, President, Southfield, Michigan City Council
  15. Rep. Larry Bell, Vice-Chair House Agriculture Committee, North Carolina House of Representatives, Clinton, North Carolina.
  16. Diane Bernardo, Council Member, City of Dubois, Pennsylvania
  17. Gloria Martin Roberts, Council Member, City of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
  18. Barbara O'Neil Lane, Council Member, City of Duquesne, Pennsylvania
  19. William Reese, Council Member, Borough of East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
  20. Judith M. Livingston, Republican State Rep from Manchester, VT
  21. Karen Dolan, Council Member, City of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
  22. Robert Gaughan, Council Member, Borough of Lansford, Pennsylvania
  23. Kevin Troup, Council Member, City of Sunbury, Pennsylvania
  24. Richard Reedy, Council Member, Borough of Kittanning, Pennsylvania
  25. John Wheeler, Council Member, Borough of Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
  26. Jean Belinski, Council Member, City of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
  27. Vergie Werner, Council member, Borough of Tyrone, Pennsylvania
  28. Tom King, Council member, Borough of Sayre, Pennsylvania
  29. Charles Aikens, Council member, Borough of Bellefonte, Pennsylania
  30. Guy Ferguson, Bradford County Democratic Party Chair, Hillary Clintion delegate, 9th CD., Pennsylvania
  31. Martin Lewis Eggleston, Council member, City of Coatesville, Pennsylvania
  32. Frank Jacobs, Carbon County Democratic Party Chair; Council member, Nesquehoning, Pennsylvania
  33. Anthony Petaccia, Mayor, City of Monessen, Pennsylvania
  34. Jeremy Melber, Council member, Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
  35. Councilor Jorge Gonzalez, City of Lawrence, MA
  36. Assemblyman William F. Boyland, Brooklyn, NY
  37. State Sen. Antoine M. Thompson, Buffalo, NY
  38. Councilor Jorge Gonzalez, City of Lawrence, MA