Subscribe to EIR Online


Two New Glass-Steagall
Co-Sponsors as of May 31

June 1, 2011 (EIRNS)—Two more senior members of the U.S. House of Representatives, one a Republican and the other a Democrat, on May 31 signed on as cosponsors to Rep. Marcy Kaptur's bill to reinstitute Glass-Steagall, H.R. 1489. Their addition brings the total to 13 co-sponsors, plus Kaptur.

Rep. Roscoe Bartlett (R-Md.) becomes the second Republican to sponsor the bill, joining North Carolina Republican Rep. Walter Jones. Bartlett is the chairman of the Armed Services Committee's Subcommittee on Tactical Air and Land Forces.

Rep. Danny Davis (D-Ill.) also signed on to legislation, which would re-establish the FDR principle of Glass-Steagall. He joins Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr., as the second Illinois legislator to co-sponsor.

The other cosponsors are:

James Moran (D-Va.)
Louise Slaughter (D-N.Y.)
Edolphus Towns (D-N.Y)
Jim McDermott (D-Wash.)
Lynn Woolsey (D-Calif.)
John Conyers (D-Mich.)
Maxine Waters (D-Calif.)
Marcia Fudge (D-Ohio)
Kurt Schrader (D-Ore.).

Back to top