Executive Intelligence Review


GOP Reps Seek Investigation of Clinton, Comey, Former FBI/DOJ Chiefs for Potential Crimes

April 18, 2018 (EIRNS)—In a letter addressed to Attorney General Jeff Sessions, FBI Director Christopher Wray, and U.S. Attorney for the District of Utah John Huber, eleven Republican Congressmen, led by Florida Rep. Ron DeSantis, have referred a group of former FBI and Justice Department (DOJ) bigwigs, as well as former Democratic Presidential candidate Hillary Clinton, for “investigation of potential violations(s) of federal statutes.”

Aside from Clinton, among those named are former FBI Director James Comey, former Attorney General Loretta Lynch, former Deputy FBI Director Andrew McCabe, former FBI agent Peter Strzok, former FBI Counsel Lisa Page, and former Acting Attorney General Sally Yates.

In reporting on the letter, DeSantis stated that the “political elite are not immune from the rule of law, and those in positions of high authority should be treated the same as any other American.” Rep. Jody Hice (GA) said he wanted Sessions, Wray and Huber to specifically “examine potential criminal wrongdoing” of the indicated individuals; their actions “point to evidence of corruption and possible treason,” said Rep. Paul Gosar (AZ).

For each one of the individuals named, the letter spells out the federal statutes they may have violated, specifying at some length the actions of James Comey. Hillary Clinton, it charges, disguised payment to Fusion GPS on “mandatory disclosures to the Federal Election Commission,” a violation of federal statutes. It also zeroes in on the misuse of the Steele dossier in warrant applications to the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) court for surveillance of Trump associate Carter Page, stating that

“we refer to DOJ all DOJ and FBI personnel responsible for signing the Carter Page warrant application that contained unverified and/or false information.”

The Congressmen signing the letter include DeSantis, Ted Yoho and Matt Gaetz of Florida; Andy Biggs and Paul Gosar of Arizona; Dave Brat of Virginia; Jeff Duncan of South Carolina; Andy Harris of Maryland; Jody Hice of Georgia; Todd Rokita of Indiana; and Claudia Tenney of New York.

The text of letter is available on Congressman DeSantis’ House website.