Executive Intelligence Review


Russia and India Sign Agreement for Six More Nuclear Plants

Oct. 8, 2018 (EIRNS)— During Russian President Vladimir Putin’s two-day (Oct. 4-5) visit to New Delhi to hold the annual summit with the Indian Premier Narendra Modi, Russia and India signed an agreement to develop construction of six Russia-designed nuclear power plant units in India at a new site, RT reported.

Russia is already building six VVER-1000 nuclear power reactors at Kudankulam in the state of Tamil Nadu. The construction began in 2002, and first two units are in operation now. Russia is now in the process of building units 3 and 4 at the plant with plans to build units 5 and 6 in the next two years.

The agreement to build six more nuclear power plants in the coastal Indian state of Andhra Pradesh, located north of Tamil Nadu, was signed by Rosatom CEO Aleksey Likhachev and Indian Atomic Energy Commission Chairman Kamlesh Nilkanth Vyas on the sidelines of the Russian-Indian summit in New Delhi on Oct. 5.

In addition, a feature of the signed agreement is the two countries’ intent to enhance nuclear cooperation in “third countries” and in “new perspective” nuclear technologies, with joint construction of nuclear power plants, Rosatom said. The parties plan, in particular, to develop the project on construction of six Russia-designed nuclear power plant units in India at the new site, to expand cooperation in third countries and cooperation in new promising areas in the nuclear power industry, RT reported from Rosatom.