Go to home page

Russia’s Rosatom Expands Nuclear Energy Cooperation with Nuclear Newcomers

April 17, 2019 (EIRNS)—At the 11th International Forum Atomexpo 2019 held in Sochi April 15-16, Rosatom signed a number of agreements with countries planning to introduce nuclear power to their energy mix, including Azerbaijan, Congo, Cuba, Ethiopia, Serbia and Uzbekistan, World Nuclear News reported. Azerbaijan’s National Nuclear Research Centre and Rusatom International Network signed a memorandum of understanding on personnel training for the joint use of atomic energy for peaceful purposes, WNN reported. Rosatom also signed two MOUs with the Ministry of Innovation and Technological Development of Serbia on cooperation in the field of nuclear personnel education and training, and on the principles of forming public opinion about the peaceful uses of nuclear technology.

Rosatom signed a roadmap on the development of cooperation in the peaceful uses of nuclear energy with the Ambassador to Russia of the Republic of the Congo (Brazzaville), and an MOU on cooperation in nuclear training and skills development with the Cuban Ministry of Science, Technology and Environment.

With the Ministry of Innovation and Technology of Ethiopia, Rosatom signed a three-year roadmap for establishing cooperation on the construction of a nuclear power plant and a center for nuclear science and technology, WNN reported.

In addition, Rusatom Service and the Uzbek Agency for Nuclear Energy under the Ministry of Energy signed an MOU on the development of nuclear infrastructure in Uzbekistan, while an Agreement of Intent was signed between Rosatom Technical Academy and UzAtom.

Back to top    Go to home page