Go to home page

Putin Places New Prime Minister Mishustin, Former Prime Minister Medvedev on His Security Council

Jan. 17, 2020 (EIRNS)—Russian President Vladimir Putin is still in the process of forming a new government, after having named Mikhail Mishustin as his new prime minister and making Dmitry Medvedev deputy chair of the Russian Security Council. Yesterday, Putin has also signed a decree to place Prime Minister Mishustin on the Russian Security Council.  “To make a change to the composition of the Security Council of the Russian Federation ... by adding as a permanent member of the Security Council of the Russian Federation M.V. Mishustin—chairman of the government of the Russian Federation,” the statement said.

Former Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev has been made Deputy Chairman of the Council—the chair is the Russian President—which now includes Director of the Federal Security Service (FSB) Alexander Bortnikov; Chief of Staff of the Presidential Executive Office Anton Vayno; State Duma Chairman Viacheslav Volodin; Federation Council Speaker Chairwoman Valentina Matviyenko; Special Presidential Representative for Environmental Protection, Ecology and Transport Sergey Ivanov; acting Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov, acting Interior Minister Vladimir Kolokoltsev, acting Defense Minister Sergey Shoigu, Director of the Foreign Intelligence Service (SVR) Sergey Naryshkin, Security Council Secretary Nikolay Patrushev.

Back to top    Go to home page clear