Subscribe to EIR Online


South Dakota Lawmakers Demand Action

July 30, 2013 (EIRNS)—In a letter to Sen. Tim Johnson (D-S.D.), the chairman of the U.S. Senate Banking Committee, made public July 29, thirteen current and former members of the South Dakota legislature called for "immediate emergency hearings" on the Glass-Steagall bills now before the Senate.

The full letter and signers are reproduced below.

We, the undersigned South Dakota legislators, by virtue of the overwhelming passage of SCR 6 in the last S.D. legislative session, call upon you [Senator Johnson], as Chairman of the Senate Banking Committee, to hold immediate, emergency hearings on the reinstatement of The Glass-Steagall Act. There is strong support for the Glass-Steagall Bills in the Senate and the House. Our people are facing economic and social ruin. The collapse of Detroit, which used to be the U.S. arsenal of democracy, is the handwriting on the wall for economic ruin across our once strong United States.

You follow in the footsteps of the great South Dakotan Peter Norbeck. You must act as he did in the present crisis that threatens to be more terrible than the Great Depression of his time.


State Senators:

  • Tim Begalka
  • James Bradford
  • Jason Frerichs
  • Ryan Maher
  • Jeff Monroe

State Representatives:

  • Dennis Feickert
  • Kevin Killer
  • Stace Nelson
  • Betty Olson
  • Dean Schrempp

Former State Legislators:

  • Frank Kloucek
  • Patty Miller
  • Lyndell Peterson

Back to top